How To Watch The June 5 Pokémon Direct

Pokemon Direct

Pokemon Direct is coming very soon! On Wednesday, June 5, we will get to learn all about the upcoming Pokemon Sword and Shield titles for Nintendo Switch. Here is everything you need to know about the upcoming event. 

What Time Does The Pokemon Direct Livestream Begin?

The Pokemon Sword and Shield focused Pokemon Direct will take place on Wednesday, June 5, at the following time:

  • 6 AM PT
  • 9 AM ET
  • 2 PM BST
  • 11 PM AEST

Unfortunately, American Pokemon trainers are going to need to watch up nice and early if they hope to catch this one.

Where To Watch The Pokemon Direct Livestream

You can watch the Pokemon Direct on the company's website if you wish. You can also watch the stream on the Nintendo Youtube, or Twitch channels. If you like, you can even watch it on the embed above.

What Can You Expect To See?

Well, it goes without saying that over the course of the stream we should get to see plenty of Pokemon Sword and Shield gameplay. Unfortunately, Nintendo has been pretty quiet on the details. With the game taking place in a new region, we absolutely expect to see new Pokemon, and will probably get to learn more about the three starter Pokemon. After that, I expect to see whatever the new hook for the game will be, most likely a new mechanic that sets it apart from previous Pokemon games. 

I also hope that we get to learn some story details. While the Pokemon themselves are the stars of any Pokemon game, people also love the characters in the games, so learning more about them would be nice too. I'd also love to get a glimpse at any special Switch consoles that might be sold with the game as special editions. I've been sitting on my hands to stop myself from buying a Switch until after E3 at the earliest, and if I know special editions are coming with Sword and Shield, then I might just hold off a little longer. While it also might be a little unlikely, there is a small chance we could even get a release date, as right now we only know that the game will be releasing this year.

Next page