Destiny 2 – How to earn Illuminated Engrams

Destiny 2

In Destiny 2, once you have reach the max Level, the XP you earn from that point will earn you special rewards. Prior to the Curse of Osiris DLC, these were known as Bright Engrams. Anyone who purchased the DLC will now be on the hunt for Illuminated Engrams.

Destiny 2 - How to earn Illuminated Engrams
Illuminated EngramsTL;DRGames • Fair Use

Illuminated Engrams

Earning Illuminated Engrams is very simple. All you need to do is take part in any of the games activities, and you will earn XP. As you reach a new rank, you will be awarded an Illuminated Engram. A message will flash on your screen telling you that you have earned a Bright Engram, but don’t worry, it is in fact the new version. You can do Strikes, Public Events, Crucible matches, the Nightfall, or even just earn XP from killing enemies while on Patrol.

Once you have earned your Engram, just bring it to Tess at the Tower and she will open it for you. Illuminated Engrams can drop special items from the Eververse store, in the form of Shaders, Ships, Sparrows and Emotes. You can also get mods and a currency known as Bright Dust, which you use to purchase items directly from Eververse. The new Engrams can drop items from the base game, or from the DLC, including the new special DLC armor pieces.

It is also possible to purchase Silver, a currency that allows you to buy Illuminated Engrams directly from the Eververse store itself. There is little reason to do so however, as you should be able to earn them at a reasonable rate simply by playing the game.

That is it for this guide, Guardian. I hope you found it helpful. If you need assistance with any other aspect of Destiny 2 then please check out our comprehensive Destiny 2 Guide Hub.