Crash Bandicoot N.Sane Trilogy Built From Scratch, Developers Have No Access To Source Code

 Crash Bandicoot N.sane

Crash Bandicoot N.Sane Trilogy is coming on PlayStation 4 on 30 June 2017. The game is pack of all three titles of Crash Bandicoot series, Crash Bandicoot, Cortex Strikes Back and Warped originally launched on PlayStation One. Now all three of them are packed into one title and coming back on PS4.

 Crash Bandicoot N.sane

An interesting news came out that tells the developers were not having any access to old source code of , Crash Bandicoot series, this led the team to work really hard in creating the game back from scratch according to the Designer Dan Tanguay.

Almost everything was missing," Vicarious designer Dan Tanguay said to ArsTechnica in an interview. By "everything," he means all of the Crash games' source code and reference materials.

He further said about the original game that was made on old PlayStation and it was all about the engine that lead to amazing performance.

"The original engine was specifically built for PlayStation 1," Tanguay said. "Naughty Dog pushed [the PS1] to the limits. They made a fantastic engine for doing that. That engine didn't see the light of day beyond PlayStation 1, as far as I know, and it certainly wasn't usable by us. Any code, anything like that, we didn't have access to."

At the end he added that thanks to Vicarious, they were able to get crucial data set of all three games 3D meshes provided by Sony and Naughty dog that lead to success of this title completion.

Source: ArsTechnica

Next page

Latest Posts