Google Stadia Leaks Potentially Reveal Price and Launch Window

Stadia Leaks

Update: On the Google Stadia stream, the price was revealed as being a monthly cost of $9.99 for the Stadia Pro subscription, and $129 for the Founder edition that includes the controller, Chromecast Ultra, and 3 months membership. 

Original Article: Google will use today's Stadia stream to reveal the price and launch date of its game streaming service. Stadia will launch in November and will cost $11.99 a month for the Pro subscription, according to Lapresse.

The subscription to the service will provide access to games such as Destiny 2, The Division 2, Assassin's Creed Odyssey, and Doom, but the subscription will cover only older titles, and new games need to purchased individually.

At launch, you will need Google's Chromecast to run Stadia, but it will function in the future with any Google device that runs Chrome. There will also be a founders edition, available for $169, that will include Google's gamepad, a Chromecast Ultra, Destiny 2, and three months subscription to the service.

The service will allow people to stream games to their device of choice and play them there, with all the computing being done at Google's end. The system will apparently support resolutions up to the 4K, and 60FPS gaming.

I am unsure if a monthly subscription, upfront price, and an uncertain catalog of games will really be the people mover that the service needs. I already expect it to struggle a little due to current broadband prices, and even access in some places. Only time will tell if this will interrupt the gaming market the way Google needs it too.

Stay tuned to the site later, when we will have all the latest updates about Stadia from the Google livestream. The Google Stadia stream today will be at 9 am PT/12pm ET /5 pm BST, and can be watched live on Youtube.

Next page

Latest Posts