EA Sports announces 2020 Team of the Year players for NHL 21

The Team of the Year for 2020.

With the past year officially in the books, EA Sports on January 1 announced the Team of the Year for 2020. Six of the league’s top NHL players made the starting group, led by 2019-20 Hart Trophy winner Leon Draisaitl.

The NHL 21 Team of the Year, which honors the best players for the calendar year of 2020, was decided via fan vote. Six goalies, 12 defencemen, and 17 forwards were on the ballot for this year’s Team of the Year.

The top six players, one for each position, not only won a spot on the Team of the Year, but also new player items in Hockey Ultimate Team. Additionally, EA Sports will also send each of the six players special Team of the Year-themed hockey equipment to commemorate the event.

Here are the six players who made the Team of the Year for 2020:

  • C: Oilers C Leon Draisaitl
  • LW: Rangers LW Artemi Panarin
  • RW: Bruins RW David Pastrnak
  • LD: Lightning LD Victor Hedman
  • RD: Avalanche RD Cale Makar
  • G: Lightning G Andrei Vasilevskiy

Related: NHL 21: How to complete all HUT Team of the Year master sets