Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order Mastering Lightsaber Combat | E3 2019

Yesterday we received a ton of new information regarding Respawn’s Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order game, which releases later this year in November. One of the highlights of the gameplay trailer we watched was getting a glimpse at how the game’s lightsaber combat was going to function. We now have a video that spends 30-seconds showing how a player can master that combat, making the fight feel fluid and effortless.

You can check out the 30-second video at the bottom.

The main character, Cal Kestis, spends a lot more time dodging and getting out away of danger rather than entirely relying on his lightsaber. While he does do plenty of parrying, reflecting, and attacking, players are likely going to have to get creative with how they fight if they want to survive the harder difficulty levels of the game.

Many of the weaker stormtroopers are in the game go down in one hit. It fits given the destructive power of a Jedi’s weapon, but when Cal begins fighting stronger opponents, he won’t find taking them down is going to be as easy.

One of the notable features shown in the 30-second video is the precise timing of parrying players are going to have to master. There’s a moment at the 22-second mark where Cal blocks the attack of scout trooper’s baton, and he does it in such a way he’s able to reflect the blast, grapple the trooper, and slice them in half. The attack gets shown in a cinematic style to suggest players are going to have the opportunity to perform similar attacks against many of the foes in the game.

Check out the video below, make sure you’ve watched the 14-minutes of gameplay footage showcased at EA Play, and make sure to check out Microsoft’s conference that kicks off later today 1 PM PST, 4 PM EST, and 9 PM BST. You can expect to see more Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order, then.

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order – Master Lightsaber Combat

Uploaded by EA Star Wars on 2019-06-06.