Screenshot via Nintendo

Klonoa returns in Klonoa Phantasy Reverie Series for Nintendo Switch

Welcome back, Klonoa.

Nintendo announced a new collection based on the cult classic Klonoa series during its February 22 Direct. The collection is titled the Phantasy Reverie Series and will contain Klonoa: Door to Phantomile and Klonoa 2: Lunatea’s Veil. The Phantasy Reverie Series will launch on the Nintendo Switch on July 8.

Recommended Videos

Only a short video was revealed during the Direct, showing that both games will be receiving visual updates. Based on the video, the gameplay for both titles remain largely intact. At this moment, it looks as if the Phantasy Reverie Series will be more similar to remasters of the two games rather than full-on remakes.

The Klonoa franchise is a series of platform video games that use a 2.5D gameplay style to combine 2D and 3D gameplay. The series stars the titular Klonoa, a fictional cat/dog-like creature that travels a mystical world fueled by dreams. The games are published by Namco, with the original Door to Phantomile being released for the PlayStation back in 1997. Despite the positive reception, the games were never huge sellers for Namco and had sporadic releases.

The last Klonoa title was a remake for Door to Phantomile that was released on the Nintendo Wii in 2008. The Phantasy Reverie Series will be the first Klonoa title in fourteen years.

Gamepur is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more
related content
Read Article Klonoa remasters will release for all platforms on July 8
Related Content
Read Article Klonoa remasters will release for all platforms on July 8
Misael Duran
Freelance Writer who's been working with the Gamurs Group since 2019. I have over six years' worth of experience in Journalism and video game writing, having worked for sites like TheGamer, CBR, Pro Game Guides, and IGN.