The Division 2’s Latest Update Will Introduce Some Holiday Cheer, Along With Permadeath

 The Division 2’s Latest Update Will Introduce Some Holiday Cheer, Along With Permadeath

The next update to Ubisoft’s Tom Clancy’s The Division 2 releases Dec. 10, with holiday cheer, but also the addition of permadeath.

Associate creative director Yannick Banchereau and associate game director Drew Rechner went over the changes in update 6.1 on Ubisoft’s blog page. The video below covers these in more extensive detail.

The update drops between 12:30 and 3:30am PDT. The game will be down for maintenance during that time. When it returns, the game’s seasonal event will kick off.

All players are eligible for free Santa hats for their characters. They can also obtain a new weapon called the Sleigher, which is capable of shooting multiple snowballs. It confuses enemies you hit with it, making them an easier target for your allies.

Permadeath is coming to the game’s Hardcore mode. Anyone who dies in this mode risk losing all their progress and items, having to start all over again. Also, characters won’t have access to their stash; and no gameplay rewards carry over to other agents. The team also wanted to make it clear that this is still a work in progress. Plays can expect further changes coming depending on feedback.

Those ready to take a risk with Hardcore mode will receive a YOLO hat, should they manage to reach Level 2.

Check out the video below to get all the details, and prepare for next week’s update accordingly.

The Division 2: State of the Game #140 – 4 December 2019 | Ubisoft [NA]

Agents! Welcome to State of The Game, a weekly livestream to discuss upcoming news, share community content, and have a chat for all things The Division 2. LIVE every Wednesday at 5 PM CEST / 11 AM ET / 8 AM PT.

Tom Clancy’s The Division 2 is available now for Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC.