Everything we know about the Little Cup, the Kanto Cup, and the Catch Cup in Pokémon Go – Dates and requirements

New Pokémon Go battle league cups.

Image via Niantic

Season 5 for the Pokémon Go battle league is nearly upon us. Not only can players look forward to engaging in Pokémon Go battles in the Great, Ultra, and Masters league, but there will be new cups for players to participate in featuring specific requirements. You need to meet these requirements to take part in these cups, which means you need to use your roster’s more unique choices to battle and earn the various rewards effectively. There are three new cups: the Little Cup, the Kanto Cup, and the Catch Cup.

The Little Cup

In the Little Cup, you will only be able to use Pokémon that have the capacity to evolve but have not. So you need to use Pokémon like Charmander, Squirtle, Bulbasaur, and Gastly. You cannot use their evolved forms, which are likely stronger. This Pokémon cup will run from November 9 to November 16 from 1 PM PT. The Pokémon CP limit is 500, which is an extremely low level.

The Kanto Cup

In the Kanto Cup, you will be limited to the original generation of Pokémon, which means you can only use Pokémon that are listed in the PokéDex from 1 to 151. You can’t use any Pokémon that go beyond this index number. The Kanto Cup will go from November 16 to November 23 at 1 PM PT. Your Pokémon cannot be above 1,500 CP, which is fairly standard for most competitions like this.

The Catch Cup

The final Pokémon Go Cup featured in season five is the Catch Cup. You will only be able to use Pokémon that you’ve caught since the start of Season 5, which begins on November 9 at 1 PM PT. The Catch Cup will go from November 23 to November 30, so you won’t be able to spend too much time with them. The CP limit is 1,500, the same as the Kanto Cup, and you won’t be able to use any mythical Pokémon.