Spider-Man PS4: Scarlet Spider Suit Confirmed, Difficulty Settings Name, Turn Off Motion Blur

Spider-man The Heist DLC Suits

At San Diego Comic-Con 2018, Insomniac Games released a new story trailer of their upcoming PlayStation 4 exclusive game, Spider-Man. The trailer gave us a brief glimpse at the threat that is looming over our beloved New York City. This was the start of probably the last leg of Spider-Man PS4 marketing. After the showing at SDCC 2018, Insomniac invited select few journalists to try out the first few hours of the game (preview). Guess what – the embargo on it has ended and the journalist who attended the preview event has posted their impressions online. In this post, we are going to discuss just a couple of small details that are going to make a huge difference in your overall Spider-Man gameplay experience.

Spider-Man PS4 Preview Information On Motion Blur, Suits And Difficulty Level

Let’s start with the Motion Blur. According to the details shared by GameInformer, it will be possible for the players to TURN OFF motion blur, film grain, and chromatic aberration in Spider-Man PS4. This is a welcome move from Insomniac.

Secondly, the difficulty levels in Spider-Man has been named creatively. The naming goes with the experience you will have. The easy difficulty will be called “Friendly”, Normal difficulty will be called “Amazing”, and Hard difficulty will be called “Spectacular”. There is no confirmation yet from Insomniac Games on whether they will add the NG+ mode in Spider-Man PS4 post-launch.

Lastly, our friend at IGN and USGamer confirmed the availability of the “Scarlet Spider” suit (check out the image below) in Spider-Man. According to the report from USGamer, Spider-Man PS4 will have a total of 25 suits to unlock. Most of the new suits were blacked out from the preview build that USGamer players, however, they were able to receive confirmation on the availability of the following suits:

  • Spider-Man Noir
  • Secret War
  • Scarlet Spider
  • Spider-Armor Mark II
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • Spider-Man 2099’s costume

Each suit that players will unlock in Spider-Man will have a special ability, however, once the player has unlocked the ability he/she can use it with any suit. One special ability of Scarlet Spider Suit that IGN mention in their article was: “it lets you project holographic decoys for enemies to attack”. This means, once the player unlocks this ability of Scarlet Spider Suit then they will be able to use it with any other suit.


Furthermore, players will be able to upgrade the special ability/power of each suit up to three modifications. This upgrade process will take place via tokens (there are multiple types of tokens to be earned in-game) that players have to earn by completing different tasks in the game. Here are few examples of different types of tokens:

  • Base Token – To earn this you will have to clear out strongholds held by villains.
  • Crime Token – To earn Crime Token, you have to listen to the Police Radio and help them stop various crimes in progress.

Spider-Man PS4 is scheduled to launch worldwide on September 7. Watch the latest story trailer below.

Source: USGamer and IGN