How to change the difficulty settings in Minecraft Dungeons

Knock it up a notch.

Minecraft Dungeons Release

Image via Mojang

Difficulty works in an interesting way in Minecraft Dungeons. There is the overall difficulty of the game, and then there is the individual level of difficulty of each area in the game.

To change the overall difficulty, you need to finish the game on the difficulty level you have access to, and kill the Arch-Illager. This will then allow you to move on to the next overall level of difficulty.

Default difficulty

Overall difficulty
  • Enemies are balanced for a first playthrough
  • Very few enchanted enemies
  • Rewards are average

Adventure difficulty

  • Enemies are hard to defeat and hit hard
  • New enemy enchantments
  • Rewards are better
  • New gear and artefacts available

Apocalypse difficulty

  • Enemies are ultra beefy and ultra punishing
  • Lots of enemies with powerful enchantments
  • Rewards are ultra good
  • Event more gear and artefacts available
Pokemon Let's Go Evee And Pikachu Master Trainers

The most important thing to know about difficulty is that each section has its own difficulty slider, and you make the game harder or easier within the bounds of the overall difficulty. The more difficult each area, the better the loot. The game will also give constant feedback. If you click on the difficult bar shown in the image above, the game will tell you if that will be easy, or hard, based on your current power level.

This is a good way to keep yourself constantly challenged, and keep relevant loot flowing your way. Which difficulty you play each area on is up to you, but remember that you can change it every time you load into an area if you want to. Repeating an area and increasing the difficulty a little each time is a good way to get some loot and level up.