How to play the Metal Gear games in timeline order

Save the world in chronological order.

Image via Konami

When it comes to a story that started back in 1987, the Metal Gear franchise jumped back and forth in time throughout the many games that came out. Because of this, many players that would like to start playing and want to do it in chronological order would probably be intimidated by the sheer size of the franchise. Luckily, we made a list for you with all the games that make up Metal Gear, the year that the events in them take place, and the platform you can get them on to try them out.

The Metal Gear games in chronological timeline order

The story of the Metal Gear saga spans over 50 years and it sees characters grow old, have children, have their own children grow, and then die. So, of course, most of us would need a list to keep up with this long series.

It is good to know that we do not recommend playing the games in this order since you might spoil various plots from the other games. However, this could still be a fun experience if you are going through them a second time. On the other hand, we would recommend playing the Metal Gear games in the order they came out.

So, here are all the Metal Gear games in timeline order:

Game TitleYear It HappensPlatform
Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater1964PS2
Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops1970PSP
Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker1974PSP, PS3, and Xbox 360
Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes1975PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC
Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain1984PS3, PS4, Xbox 360, Xbox One, and PC
Metal Gear1995MSX2 and NES
Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake1999MSX2
Metal Gear Solid2005PS1 and PC
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty2007-2009PS2, Xbox, and PC
Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots2014PS3
Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance2018PS3, Xbox 360, PC, and Nvidia Shield TV