Pokémon Go Eevee Evolution Guide: How to get Flareon, Jolteon, Vaporeon, Espeon, Umbreon, Leafeon, and Glaceon

You need to go through multiple steps to evolve Eevee into one of many of its available evolutions

Boldore, Gurdurr, Karrablast, Shelmet Pokemon GO

Eevee is easily one of the most popular Pokémon, and at this time, seven of the eight possible evolutions are available in Pokémon Go. Trainers can obtain Flareon, Jolteon, Vaporeon, Espeon, Umbreon, Glaceon, and Leafeon. The Fairy-type Sylveon is not yet available in Pokémon Go, but will likely come in a future update. There are multiple ways to evolve an Eevee, such as traditional leveling, and naming it.

How to evolve Eevee through naming

Each time you use 25 Eevee Candy to evolve an Eevee, it will randomly evolve into one of three possible Eeveelutions: Flareon, Jolteonor Vaporeon. If you’re looking to evolve Eevee into a specific evolution, you can control it by renaming the Eevee before evolving it using candy. 

You can dictate what an Eevee evolves into before giving it 25 Eevee candy. If you don’t change it to one of these names, it’ll go through its standard evolution steps. You can only use the naming trick once, so if you have a lower CP Eevee, you probably don’t want to waste your one shot.

  • To obtain the Fire-type Pokémon Flareon, name them Pyro
  • To obtain the Electric-type Pokémon Jolteon, name them Sparky
  • To obtain the Water-type Pokémon Vaporeon, name them Rainer
  • To obtain the Psychic-type Pokémon Espeon, name them Sakura
  • To obtain the Dark-type Pokémon Umbreon, name them Tamao
  • To obtain the Ice-type Pokémon Glaceon, name them Rea
  • To obtain the Grass-type Pokémon Leafeon, name them Linnea

To rename your Eevee, all you have to do is click the Pokéball at the bottom of your screen, click the Pokémon option, and locate the Eevee you want to rename from your list. Click that Eevee, and click on the Pokémon’s name and you should be able to give them a nickname. Following the name change, give your Eevee the 25 candies to have it evolve, and it should turn into the one from the list.

How to obtain Flareon, Jolteon, and Vaporeon

After you use the unusual naming convention technique to acquire your specific Eevee evolution, you have to achieve the other evolutions through standard gameplay. Your Eevee has an equal chance of becoming Flareon, Jolteon, and Vaporen anytime you give it 25 candies. You don’t have much say in the matter, so if you’re after a specific one, you may need to acquire multiple Eevees to find the one you’re after.

How to obtain Espeon, Umbreon, Glaceon, and Leafeon

In the main series Pokémon games, these Pokémon require you to follow a specific sequence of steps to have your Eevee become one of them. Espeon and Umbreon have similar measures, as do Glaceon and Leafeon.

Espeon and Umbreon

To have your Pokémon become Espeon or Umbreon, the first thing you need to is set your Eevee to your buddy. You can do this by clicking on your avatar, going to the trainer menu, clicking on your current buddy, and then going down the buddy menu to the swap buddies options. Choose the Eevee you want to evolve and make them your buddy. You then need to walk 10-kilometers with your Eevee.

When you’re ready to evolve them, you need to keep Eevee as your active buddy, and it’s important to note the time of day matters. If you want the Psychic-type, Espeon, you need to evolve your Eevee during the day. If you want the Dark-type, Umbreon, you need to evolve them during the night. After you wait for the correct time of day, you evolve Eevee as you would any other Pokémon.

Glaceon and Leafeon

To have your Pokémon become Glaceon or Leafeon, you need to obtain specific lure modules. For the Ice-type, Glaceon, you need to acquire the Glacial lure module. For the Grass-type, Leafeon, you to use the Mossy lure module. You buy these modules from the shop for 200 PokéCoins, which you can acquire from multiple ways in Pokémon Go.

When you have the correct lure you want to use, you need to visit a PokéStop and activate it. Once it’s active, evolve your Eevee as you traditionally one, and it will become Glaceon or Leafeon, based on what module you enabled.