Destiny 2: Forsaken – Complete Guide to Gambit

Destiny 2

Destiny 2: Forsaken is just around the corner, and a lot of content is coming with it. Along, with new weapons, armor, super abilities, enemies, a new area and a raid, a brand new game mode is coming as well. The new mode Bungie is bringing to Destiny 2: Forsaken is called Gambit.

What is Gambit? PvE Explained

Gambit is going to be a new PvEvP mode that pits two teams of four, sets them in separate arenas and bombards them with enemies. As you take out the AI enemies, they will drop motes, which can be banked for points. Once a team has deposited enough points, the team can send a blocker to the other team’s arena. These blockers range in shape from Taken Phalanxes to Taken Ogres. The more points you bank, the tougher the enemies you can send over to the other team. The goal of a blocker is to keep the other side from depositing motes, thus stalling any progress they try to make.

If your team manages to bank 75 motes, a Primeval Taken boss will appear in your arena. Killing the Primeval Taken boss will win the round for your team and score one point. The first team to two points wins the match.

What is Gambit? PvP Explained

Destiny 2: Forsaken - Complete Guide to Gambit
Gambit PvP • Activision • Licensed by Owner

Gameplay gets very interesting during the PvP portion of Gambit. Once a team has deposited enough motes, they can send a player to the other team’s arena. If you kill any member of the other side, they will drop any motes them carry which will stall their progress. If you happen to destroy any enemies during their Taken boss phase of the round, the boss will be healed. This allows for some last-ditch attempts at slowing down a team that’s currently beating you. When you’re fighting your Prime Evil, ensure you kill the Envoys first to get a damage buff.

Gambit Maps

Destiny 2: Forsaken - Complete Guide to Gambit
Gambit Maps • Activision • Licensed by Owner

Gambit matches will take place across three maps. The new areas are Emerald Coast in the European Dead Zone (EDZ), Legion’s Folly in the Arcadian Valley on Nessus, and Kell’s Grave in the Reef.

Gambit Infamy and Rewards

Destiny 2: Forsaken - Complete Guide to Gambit
Gambit Vendor • Activision • Licensed by Owner

With a new game mode comes a plethora of new rewards and who better to give them out than a brand new character named The Drifter. Not only will The Drifter be the new vendor, but he will also be your Gambit host and commentator. Rewards for playing Gambit will include legendary weapons, armor, and the brand new exotic handgun Malfeasance.

A new ranking system named Infamy will be put in place for Gambit. Infamy will work just like Valor does in the Crucible. When you win or lose, your Infamy will go up. Ranks of Infamy will be identical to Glory and Valor but is based on a three-tiered system. Once you complete a tier, you will be rewarded.

When can I Play Gambit?

If you’re wondering when we will get our hands on Gambit, you won’t have to wait very long. Starting September 1 at 10 am PDT, Gambit will be available to all Destiny 2 players regardless of expansion ownership for 24 hours. If you’re hoping for new Forsaken gear, unfortunately, you’ll have to wait for the full release as this 24 hour trial period will only drop Year 1 gear.

Destiny 2: Forsaken releases on September 4 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC.