How do Seasons work in Fallout 76?

Expect the Seasons to change in Fallout 76.

Image via Bethesda

Fallout 76 will have brand new Seasons starting with Update 20. When Update 20 arrives, players can expect to experience a brand new way to progress through the game, unlocking new items for their C.A.M.P.s, armor, outfits, in-game currencies, and much more.

A Season in Fallout 76 will be similar to how a battle pass works in other games, such as Destiny 2 or Fortnite. Traditionally, players expect to pay the equivalent of $9.99 to participate in these battle passes to unlock the new skins and take part in the new in-game activities. However, in Fallout 76, all players who own the game do not have to purchase Season One. It will be available to everyone when it launches alongside Update 20.

A game board represents a Season’s progression in Season One. Every player starts on the first tile, level 1, and then have to play the game to level up their S.C.O.R.E. You can do this by participating in daily and weekly challenges, which consist of routine activities, like Completing a Public Event, Killing a Legendary Creature, and many more options. Developer Bethesda expects players to spend an hour or two of in-game time to level up a rank on the board game.

Image via Bethesda

Each time you level up on the game board, you receive an in-game reward. These rewards range from one of the many in-game currencies, Power Armor paint, items for your C.A.M.P., Repair Kits, cosmetic items, outfits, weapon skins, and much more. All players have the option of purchasing a level using Atoms. It takes 150 Atoms to rank up on the board, which is roughly $150. The first two weeks of the season will restrict purchasing tiles for Atoms to keep everyone on a level playing field at first.

When you reach the highest level of the game board, level 100, you receive an End of Season bundle. The bundle for Season 1, for example, includes unique Captain Cosmos themed items. One of the items is a Jangles the Moon Monkey Stein and an in-game item of the Season 1 board game in a frame.

Forza Horizon 4 Concept Art Leaked
Image via Bethesda

There will be four Seasons each year in Fallout 76. You can expect to see one for spring, summer, fall, and winter.

Some of this information may change in the future as Bethesda receives additional feedback from the community about this new in-game system. For now, the Seasons are expected to remain free, but they could eventually cost extra money. They may even charge a certain amount of Atoms, rather than real-world money. Right now, Season 1 will be free for everyone who owns Fallout 76.