This Is All The Destiny 2 Content That Will Be Free In New Light

Destiny 2 Header/ Steam

On October, the next chapter of Destiny 2’s life begins as the game goes free-to-play, and becomes a new version of the game, called Destiny 2: New Light. The new version launches on the same day as the next expansion, Shadowkeep, so you might have some questions about what content is going to be free. The plan is for the new base game to act as the foundation to your time in Destiny 2, and then you buy into the extra content that appeals to you. In this article, we will run through everything that will be free in Destiny 2: New Light.

The Destiny 2 Content Coming to New Light

All Playable Areas

All playable areas will be free, which is an excellent move from Bungie. You will be able to play on the Tangled Shore, and in the Dreaming City, from the Forsaken DLC, and even the patrol area of the Moon from Shadowkeep will be free. These changes mean you can go on a patrol with your friends, do public events, and explore lost sectors. It even includes an area from the original Destiny, as new players are going to begin at the Cosmodrome, the place where Destiny veterans all cut their teeth. You will only spend a brief time in the Cosmodrome though, and make sure you take in the sights while you are there. You won’t have the chance to return once you’re finished.

PvE and PvP Hallmarks

The majority of time in Destiny 2, once players wrap up the campaign, is spent doing Strikes, fighting fellow Guardians in the Crucible, or the unique blend of PvE and PvP that is Gambit. You will have access to all this content for free. This content also includes Gambit Prime, which released during The Season of the Drifter. As of this writing, we don’t know if it also consists of the Reckoning game mode yet, but we’re going to update this article when Bungie has clarified the answer.


Destiny 2 Calus

People who are joining the world of Destiny 2 with New Light are going to have access to the Leviathan raid, and the raid Layers. These include Eater of Worlds and Spire of Stars.

Players who wish to play The Last Wish Raid, Scourge of the Past, and Crown of Sorrow raids are going to need the Forsaken DLC and the Forsaken Annual Pass. At the moment that will cost you $40, but we don’t know if the price will remain the same under the game’s new free-to-play structure. The Shattered Throne, a game mode that’s a blend of a raid and a strike known as a dungeon, is also locked behind the Forsaken price tag.

Exotic Quests

Now, things get vaguer regarding exotics. These exclusive items generally tie-in to different areas of the game. For now, we can assume that if you can play in the activity that houses the Exotic Quest, you should be able to get the exotic loot. We fully expect Bungie to give a comprehensive list of what you will and won’t have access to closer to release. We do know you’re going to have access to a handful of exotics through the Red War campaign, the main storyline of Destiny 2.


Destiny 2 Shadowkeep

Shadowkeep is the first expansion in the free-to-play era. As such, a majority of it is behind a paywall. New players are going to have the chance to patrol the Moon and enjoy the systemic changes that the expansion brings to the game, such as the new armor system.

For players who are going to pay in the new free-to-play model, the expansion includes new missions and quests, a new raid, new weapons and armor, the new patrol area on the Moon, and the new Shattered Throne style dungeon.

That is just about everything we know right now, but we expect Bungie to provide more specific details in the future. We’ll keep a close eye on any news from Bungie, and we’re going to update this article accordingly. Make sure to check back in from time to time to stay up to date with all the news about Destiny 2: New Light.