What is Challenge Mode in Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart?

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart is so much fun that it’s hard to stop playing, but Challenge Mode will help players enjoy it for even longer.

Screenshot by Gamepur

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart is a flagship PS5 title that showcases just how visually impressive games can be. It’s a phenomenal 3D platformer with powerful dimension-hopping ideas that play smoothly and satisfactorily regardless of how much players test the technology.

The game is engrossing, inviting players to roam each world and collect everything they can find. Upgrading weapons also takes up much time, and tackling side content is a must. However, all good things must come to an end, and it feels like this game finishes way too soon. That’s why players need to know what Challenge Mode is in Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart and how it can improve their playthrough.

Related: All weapons in Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart Challenge Mode Explained

Screenshot by Gamepur

Challenge Mode is Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart’s New Game+ mode in all but name. Players can only unlock it after completing the main story. The above image pops up on-screen when they do so, explaining exactly what the game mode offers.

Please note that fans won’t activate Challenge Mode if they select the “Return to Zurkie’s” button. This button takes players back to the game’s final level, where they can continue to collect items and complete side objectives if they want to reach 100% on a save file before starting Challenge Mode.

Selecting the “Title Screen” button takes players back to the main menu, where they can start a new save file in Challenge Mode. This is exactly what happens in other titles with a New Game + mode, and certain changes will be applied to the world in that save file to make the playthrough more interesting.

What Changes in Challenge Mode in Ratched & Clank: Rift Apart?

Screenshot by Gamepur

Challenge Mode changes a few things in the world, and the story of Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart. For example, players will keep all the collectibles they’ve found on their previous save file, as well as the weapons they’ve unlocked and any Bolts they had.

Players will receive a Bolt multiplayer in Challenge Mode for killing enemies without taking hits, allowing them to earn more Bolts quickly if they’re able to dodge incoming fire. Finally, all weapons have an Omega variant in Challenge Mode that can be upgraded to level 10, adding five additional levels on top of weapons in the base game.