GTA Online’s Casino Is Being Banned By A Lot Of Countries

GTA Online Weekly Update: September 12-18

It took nearly six long years, but on July 23, 2019, we finally got what we thought we’d wanted for quite a while when Rockstar updated GTA Online with The Diamond Casino And Resort. At first, it was a lot of fun as you could spend hours getting to grips with all the games on offer and make or lose fortunes in a blink of an eye, but after the initial razzle-dazzle wore off, cracks started to show.

GTA Online casino

GTA Online Casino Banned

To start with, a lot of people, this writer included, balked at the idea of having to cough up over $6,500,000 to buy one of Penthouse Suites and were even more insulted when they realized that if you didn’t do this, you’d miss out on a whole new chunk of gameplay. But what has done even more damage to GTA Online‘s Casino is that a lot, and I do mean a lot of countries have just straight out banned it.

This is down to the fact that you can use real-life money to buy chips, kind of like the way you can buy Shark Cards to get ahead in-game, and certain governments see this as gambling. Whether or not this is the case, Rockstar is not going to take on these countries leadership, no matter how powerful they are as a company, so in these places, you can’t buy any chips to spend in the casino.

Want to know if your country falls into the banned category? Well then, here you go.

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • American Samoa
  • Argentina
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bhutan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Belarus
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Cayman Islands
  • China
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Malta
  • Malaysia
  • North Korea
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Tuvalu
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Vietnam
  • Venezuela