Image Credit: Bethesda
Forgot password
Enter the email address you used when you joined and we'll send you instructions to reset your password.
If you used Apple or Google to create your account, this process will create a password for your existing account.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Reset password instructions sent. If you have an account with us, you will receive an email within a few minutes.
Something went wrong. Try again or contact support if the problem persists.
Image Via Nintendo

The Best Zelda Games Have Finally Arrived on Nintendo Switch

Link's greatest adventures are finally available on Nintendo Switch Online.

The greatest entries in The Legend of Zelda series are now available on Nintendo Switch, as The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages and Oracle of Seasons can now be downloaded and played on the system. These incredible titles are only available to those who subscribe to Nintendo Switch Online, where they are part of the Game Boy app.

Recommended Videos

Unlike most entries in The Legend of Zelda series, the Oracle games were produced by a third-party developer, though Nintendo still published them. The Oracle titles were developed by Flagship, a Capcom subsidiary tasked with creating two portable entries in The Legend of Zelda series for the Game Boy Color.

Related: How to use Game Boy Color mode on Nintendo Switch Online

The Legend of Zelda Oracle of Ages & Oracle of Seasons is Available Now on Nintendo Switch Online

When Game Boy and Game Boy Advance titles were announced for Nintendo Switch Online, Nintendo revealed that the Oracle games would arrive later in the year. That day has arrived, as a trailer on the official Nintendo of America YouTube channel has announced that the Oracle games are available to download now via Nintendo Switch Online.

Both of the Oracle games are amazing in different ways. Oracle of Ages focuses more on puzzles, with Link using the Harp of Ages to travel back and forth through time to help him defeat Veran, the Sorceress of Shadows. Oracle of Seasons focuses on combat and exploration, with Link using the Rod of Seasons to change the seasons to travel the world and defeat the evil General Onox.

These two The Legend of Zelda titles are amazing, but the adventure doesn’t stop there. Once you complete one game, you’ll be given a code to enter into the next one, allowing you to continue the story and eventually take on Ganon. This linking of the games enables you to travel between the two using passwords, allowing you to unlock special gear in both worlds. This means there are two ways to experience the story: starting with Oracle of Ages and moving to Oracle of Seasons, and vice versa.

Related: The 10 best games on the Nintendo Switch Online Expansion Pack

The Legend of Zelda series might have embraced the open-world design philosophy, and there’s no doubt that Breath of the Wild and Tears of the Kingdom are incredible games, but there’s something to be said for the streamlined experience that comes with the older 2D entries in the series. The Oracle games represent the peak of the 2D Zeldas, and millions of players can now experience their genius on the Nintendo Switch.

Gamepur is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
Image of Scott Baird
Scott Baird
Scott has been writing for Gamepur since 2023, having been a former contributor to websites like Cracked, Dorkly, Topless Robot, Screen Rant, The Gamer, and TopTenz. A graduate of Edge Hill University in the UK, Scott started as a film student before moving into journalism. Scott covers Dungeons & Dragons, Final Fantasy, Pokémon, and MTG. He can be contacted on LinkedIn.