How to unlock all four new classes in Fire Emblem Cindered Shadows

New classes means new tactical choices and strategies.

Fire Emblem: Three Houses

The Cindered Shadows DLC introduces the Ashen Wolves, and four new classes, to Fire Emblem: Three Houses. During the Cindered Shadows side story, you can command the Ashen Wolves, and the four characters will have the new classes. The new classes bring some interesting new options to the game, and play quite differently to anything that is already available.

  • Dark Flier – Constance
  • Trickster – Yuri
  • War Monk – Balthus
  • Valkyrie – Hapi

Once you have finished the first episode of the Cindered Shadows DLC, the new classes will become available in your main Fire Emblem: Three Houses playthrough. Unlocking them works a little differently, and instead of Seals, you will need to get an Abyssian Exam Pass.

When you are in the personal quarters, you can choose Certifications as usual during an off day. You will find the new classes in the Special Classes category. As long as you have an Abyssian Exam Pass, and have all the requirements met for the class, you will be able to take the exam to switch to that class.

  • Dark Flier – Reason B+, Flying C
  • Trickster – Thief unlocked, Sword B, Faith B
  • War Monk – Priest unlocked, Brawling B+, Faith C+
  • Valkyrie – Reason B, Riding B

Remember, you can have any of your characters learn these new classes, but plan carefully. You want to change classes to fill gaps in your strategy and potential tactics, you don’t want to end up with too many similar classes, leaving you weak against certain enemies, or unprepared for battles.

You can also recruit the Ashen Wolves in your main campaign, so if you only want one of each of the new classes, this is the best way to get them.