New Gwent: The Witcher Card Game Tournament Starts This Weekend

missing-image-4x3

As the NFL season nears its conclusion and fans spend the weekend in front of their TV, a different type of fan segment is getting excited for the start of a new Gwent tournament season. As part of the Gwent Masters series, the Gwent Open is running this weekend and is the first event of the official esports series for Gwent: The Witcher Card Game.

New Gwent: The Witcher Card Game Tournament Starts This Weekend
Gwent OpenEvolve PR • Licensed by Owner

Starting with the quarterfinal on Saturday and moving into the semifinal and final on Sunday, the entire event will be broadcast on Twitch. Viewers will even have a chance to win some prizes of their own. The event kicks off on Saturday, January 20th at 4PM CET on the official CD Projekt RED Twitch channel.

Here’s what that time is in a few common timezones:

  • 4:00PM CET
  • 7:00AM PST
  • 9:00AM CST
  • 10:00AM EST
  • 3:00PM GMT
  • 2:00AM (Sunday) AEDT

The tournament will feature the top 8 players from the previous Pro Ladder season and will be cast by popular players and streamers: Connagh “Merchant” Hawkins, Dane “McBeard” McBurnie, Miguel “MegaMogwai” Guerrero León and David “ImpetuousPanda” Gil Nolskog.

Thanks to Twitch drops, viewers will be able to earn Card Kegs and other rewards by watching the tournament. For those unable to watch live, you’ll be able to follow the highlights via the Gwent Masters Twitter account. That’s also an excellent place to get some info on the contenders, as they will be posting player profiles leading up to the main event.

Watching this tournament seems like a great way to pass the time for our Editor-in-Chief and like-minded gamers who believe that fast-travelling should be avoided while playing games like The Witcher 3. This would certainly provide some entertainment on those long trips across the world.