How Destiny 2’s Season Challenges work in Season 13

A new way to play.

Destiny 2

One of the major changes coming to Destiny 2 in Season 13 is the Season Challenge system. Bungie are introducing this system as a way of dealing with the problem of bounty fatigue.

All Destiny 2 players will know that, at present, much of the game revolves around completing an endless string of bounties to earn experience and resources, and that over the course of a full season it can get quite tiresome. The Season Challenge system will act as a way to guide players through the seasonal content, encourage them to engage with some of the deeper systems in the game, and make earning rewards more pleasant, as it will be less punishing to miss a week of gameplay when the real world intervenes.

Below, you can find all the information that Bungie have released about the Season Challenges so far. We will be updating this into a more comprehensive guide when Season 13 goes live on February 9.

  • Every week, for the first 10 weeks of a Season, between 3 and 10 new Challenges appear automatically for players. 
    • Some of the Challenges deal with the Seasonal content. 
    • Others push players to complete strikes, Gambit, and the Crucible, or to focus on non-activity focused Destiny rituals, like gaining Power, unlocking Seasonal Artifact mods, or improving guns and armor. 
  • These Challenges can only be completed once per account, but once they become available, these Challenges can be completed at any time before the end of the Season, and do not need to be started or picked up from a vendor. 
    • As an example, if a player doesn’t play for weeks 2 through 4, they can return on week 5 and have all of those Challenges waiting for them! 
  • Completing each Challenge awards XP, contributing to your Season Pass ranks. 
    • Other rewards could be Bright Dust, Seasonal currency, or other interesting items

Examples of potential Season Challenges:

  • Defeating Primeval Envoys in Gambit 
  • Defeating enemies in Nightfall: The Ordeal with Seasonal weapons 
  • Gaining Infamy or Valor ranks 
  • Acquiring the ritual weapon and its cosmetic ornaments 
  • Winning rounds in Trials of Osiris 
  • Completing a Grandmaster Nightfall 

In general, the harder or longer a challenge is, the more rewarding it will be for the player to complete it. According to Bungie, Challenges that focus on the Seasonal activity and ritual mostly need the Season Pass to complete, but most of the ritual focused Challenges can be completed without the Season Pass. Roughly two-thirds of the available challenges will be achievable without access to the Season Pass.

Zavala, Shaxx, and the Drifter will all be losing their Weekly Bounties, as will the Season 13 Seasonal Vendor. They will still have Daily Bouties for XP grinding, and they will also have repeatable Bounties that can reward XP and Bright Dust.

The majority of Season Challenges will be limited to that season and will disappear at the end of the season if not completed. Any Challenge that rewards unique or Seasonal items can be completed as long as the Seasonal activity is in the game, but XP awarded for completing the challenge will only be available during the season it was introduced.