How the Pity system works in Genshin Impact

Take pity on me.

Image via miHoYo

If you have ever wanted a game to take pity on your terrible luck, then Genshin Impact has you covered. The free-to-play game contains a gacha system that gives you new characters, weapons, and other goodies. Rather than have you smack your head off a brick wall getting endless low rolls, the game will realize when you are having some poor luck and swing the odds in your favor.

The overall view is that every 90 wishes will result in a guaranteed 5 Star, and every 10 wishes will guarantee a 4 Star. Once you hit that guaranteed mark, however, the Pity System will start the countdown again.

While all this happens in the background, the Genshin Impact wiki has some interesting information on how it affects the percentages. As an example, let’s take a look at the Promotional Character Wishes.

These normally have the following drop rates:

  • 5-Star Character or Weapon – 0.6%
  • 4 Star Character or Weapon – 5.1%
  • 3 Star Weapon – 94.3%

When you factor in the pity system, it changes to the following:

  • 5-Star Character or Weapon – 1.6%
  • 4 Star Character or Weapon – 13%
  • 3 Star Weapon – 85.4%

So, not a dramatic improvement when it comes to 5 Stars, but a big step up when it comes to 4 Stars. The most important thing to remember here is that if you feel a game has an unfair system in place, the important thing to do is to actually stop playing the game. There are thousands of games out there vying for your attention, after all.

The good news is that our time in Genshin Impact has yet to see us run into major issues with time-gating, difficulty spiking, or anything else. You may not get a huge amount of 5 Star characters and weapons, but they also may not be necessary to clear game content. How this holds up into the extreme late game remains to be seen.