Image Credit: Bethesda
Forgot password
Enter the email address you used when you joined and we'll send you instructions to reset your password.
If you used Apple or Google to create your account, this process will create a password for your existing account.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Reset password instructions sent. If you have an account with us, you will receive an email within a few minutes.
Something went wrong. Try again or contact support if the problem persists.
Image via Activision Blizzard

How to disable the chat preview box in Diablo Immortal

Put it away for another time.
This article is over 2 years old and may contain outdated information

While communication is great to have in multiplayer games, sometimes it gets to be a little too much when the chat is crowded with dozens of people trying to let their opinions known. In most games, blocking out the noise is as easy as muting people or turning off your headset. In certain MMO-like games though, you have a text chat to deal with that has a lot of people talking. And in mobile games, that takes up a lot of limited screen estate. Here is how to remove the chat preview box in Diablo Immortal.

Recommended Videos

Related: How to automatically pick up items in Diablo Immortal

Disabling the chat preview box

If you are tired of seeing the chat box appear for world chat in Diablo Immortal, all you need to do is open up Settings and go to Chat. At the top of this section is Channels in Chat Preview. Everything you have checked here will automatically open up the chat window and show you what people are saying when it is available. For example, by default, World is checked, so anyone on the server can type into chat, and you will see their message.

Screenshot by DoubleXP

We prefer to keep the chat preview open to only friends and party members. That way, we don’t have to deal with random conversations we don’t care about, but can still see things that the people we are playing with are saying. If you are not using voice chat, being able to communicate through text with your teammates is a good alternative.

After you turn off World chat, the box will still remain there when you leave the Settings. To get rid of it, leave the game and enter back in. If you ever want to see the text threads of any of the areas you turned off, all you need to do is tap the text portion at the bottom of the screen.


Gamepur is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
related content
Related Content
Author
Image of John Hansen
John Hansen
John Hansen is a Full-time Staff Writer for Gamepur as well as a host for the YouTube channel Pixel Street Videos where he co-hosts a weekly gaming podcast and more. His favorite games include Super Mario 64, The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Breath of the Wild, Left 4 Dead 2, and Overwatch. He covers Overwatch 2 and other FPS titles, Minecraft, Sonic the Hedgehog, Legend of Zelda, and whatever zombie games are placed in front of him.