Image Credit: Bethesda
Forgot password
Enter the email address you used when you joined and we'll send you instructions to reset your password.
If you used Apple or Google to create your account, this process will create a password for your existing account.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
Reset password instructions sent. If you have an account with us, you will receive an email within a few minutes.
Something went wrong. Try again or contact support if the problem persists.
Screenshot by Gamepur

Does God of War Ragnarok have a difficulty trophy? Answered

Are you looking for a challenge in God of War Ragnarok?

Many of us playing through God of War Ragnarok are doing so just to have a good time and enjoy its story instead of playing for the challenging combat. For those who are more interested in the story, you will be happy to learn that God of War Ragnarok has plenty of difficulty settings to choose from. Though, difficulty settings often come with the follow-up question of whether or not the game has difficulty-based trophies or achievements.

Recommended Videos

Related: God of War Ragnarok reaches the highest peak in blending storytelling and adventure – Review

Are there trophies attached to specific difficulties?

Difficulty-based trophies can stop less skilled players or people who don’t enjoy challenging combat from fully completing a game. Luckily, in God of War Ragnarok, there are no trophies tied to your difficulty setting. You can play through the entire game on the easiest difficulty and unlock every trophy available, so there is no need to crank up the challenge unless that’s actually what you prefer.

The choice between easier and harder difficulty settings is more centered around the question of whether you want to focus on experiencing the story or engaging in challenging combat. These are also far from mutually exclusive. Santa Monica Studio gives players a range of five difficulty options, so it mostly depends on your personal combat skills and preferences.

Related: Full God of War Ragnarok trophy list – All trophies in God of War Ragnarok

God of War Ragnarok difficulty settings, explained

God of War Ragnarok allows all players to choose between five difficulty levels: StoryGraceBalanceNo Mercy, and God of War. You can change difficulty levels at any point from the settings menu, though this only works for the four easiest levels. The hardest difficulty, called God of War, is only an available option when beginning a new game, and it would be wise to make sure that you can handle the challenge before making this commitment.

Gamepur is supported by our audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a small affiliate commission. Learn more about our Affiliate Policy
related content
Related Content
Image of Austin Kuzdal
Austin Kuzdal
Austin wrote for Gamepur from August of 2022 to November of the same year. They specialized in God of War and Pokemon content.